top of page

The 1988-89 Thunder Bay Twins started their season with one goal in mind, to win their unprecedented 5th Allan Cup. Along the way, they bettered their original expectations by establishing another record, becoming the first team in CASH League history to put in a perfect regular season with a 23-0-0 record.

Entering the Allan Cup final, a 4 team round-robin tournament, the Twins set upon their 'Drive for Five' before their home-town fans. Defeating the Montreal Chomedy 6-3, they advanced to the best 2-out-of-3 final against their CASH League rivals, the St. Boniface Mohawks. Blanking their opponents 2-0 in the first game, the stage was set for an exciting second match. A 4-3 victory in game two, earned the Twins the Allan Cup for the second time in as many years. This victory established them as the first team ever to win the Canadian Senior Hockey title five times and marked the end of an era in senior hockey in northwestern Ontario. The members of this Allan Cup Championship team included:

Mark Backor, Rory Cava, Marc Chorney, Gerry Cizmar, Dave Daciw, Rob DeGagné, Mike Ford, Wayne Howarth, Lynn Jorgenson, Cliff Judd, Jim Keyes, Peter King, Dan Luty, Scott Masters, Jamie McDonald, Dave Menard, Terry Menard, Roy Myllari, Laurie Nordstrom, Mike Plesh, Don Porter, Rod Sachs, Jim Sambray, Darrin Sheehan, Ron Talakoski, Wes Tanchuk, Bruce Thompson, Larry Wintoneak, Bill McDonald (Coach), Ralph Stewart (Assistant Coach), Gary Cook (General Manager), Darrell Clarke (Assistant Trainer), Wilf Gaune (Trainer), Gary Linquist (Trainer), Bob Reid (Trainer).

Inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, September 25, 1999

Thunder Bay Twins Senior Hockey

Team Year:
Allan Cup Champions
bottom of page