top of page

It was early in 1958 that the first national curling title would be brought home to the Lakehead by a group of schoolboy curlers from Fort William. Skipped by Tom Tod, the rink consisted of Neil McLeod (third), Patrick Moran (second), David Allin (lead) and Dick Symes (coach).

The rink had an outstanding record of success on the way to their title, losing only one game in 25 matches. At the local level they claimed four straight victories to advance to the Northwestern Ontario playdowns in Noranda, Quebec where they would also achieve a clean sweep of 4-0.

The Canadian School Curling finals were held in the Charlottetown Arena in Prince Edward Island. The team faced off against ten teams from all across Canada and turned in an outstanding performance by winning nine games and losing only one. Many of these victories were decisive, including a 15-5 win over New Brunswick. In the final game, the Tod rink defeated British Columbia 8-5 to claim the Canadian School Boy Curling crown.

In 1959 Tom Tod led a rink consisting of all new curlers to defend the Northern Ontario Schoolboy title, claiming the Pepsi-Cola Trophy and qualifying for the Canadian final; however, they were unsuccessful in their national bid.

Since that illustrious victory in 1958, the secondary and post-secondary schools of Thunder Bay have gone on to represent the region with distinction at the national level, carrying on this proud tradition.

Photo:(l-r) Tom Tod (skip), Neil McLeod (third), Patrick Moran (second), David Allin (lead)

Inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, September 29, 1984

Tod [Tom] Schoolboy Curling Rink

Team Year:
Canadian Champions
bottom of page