top of page

In 1938 four rowers, representing the Fort William Rowing Club, earned the distinction of becoming the first crew to claim a team victory for northwestern Ontario at the prestigious Royal Canadian Henley Regatta, doing so in the Junior 4's event.

The crew consisted of Murray Teeple as stroke, George Nickerson and Jim Miller (both of whom learned their rowing skills while competing in Kenora) and George Moors in the bow position. The crew gained entry into the final event of the Junior 4's by qualifying in the 2nd heat of the preliminary round of competition against crews from Lachine, Quebec and Buffalo, New York. In the final heat of the event, Fort William was matched against crews from Winnipeg, the University of Toronto and Lachine.

Fort William took an early lead in the final race and went on to finish the mile and 550 yard course in the remarkable time of 6 minutes and 59 seconds. The crew crossed the finish line an impressive four boat lengths ahead of the 2nd place Winnipeg team to claim the 56th Royal Canadian Henley Regatta Junior 4's championship title. The victory was a double triumph for Fort William inasmuch as they had been defeated by Winnipeg crew at the Northwestern International Rowing Association's Regatta just one week prior.

Fort William's time marked the fastest record finish in the Henley Junior 4's final on the St. Catharines course since the event was first held there in 1903. Their record remained unbroken for the next 14 years of Henley competition, proving just how outstanding the accomplishment made by these northwestern Ontario oarsmen truly was.

Standing (left to right):

George Moors(bow), George Nickerson, Jim Miller, Murray Teeple (stroke).

Inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, September 17, 1988

Fort William Junior 4's Rowing Crew

Team Year:
Henley Regatta Champions
bottom of page