top of page

Back Row (L-R): Jake Burnett, Joe Baratta, Jack McDonald, Mike McMahon,

Albert Davey, Ab Filipovic, Harvey Littleford, Ed Kruppa, Frank Dupius,

Ray Antoniak.

Middle Row (L-R): Jack James (Coach), Harold Harri, Murray McKenzie, Doug Hogan,

Ernie Dupius, Al Smith, George Durica, Rudy Halina, Hugh Loney, Sherry Wishart, Ed Whatley, Bruce Cameron, Buster Powers, Tom Fronais, Leo Franchi.

Front Row (L-R): Mike Herbert, Bruno Grobelny, Larry Lychowyd, Bob Mitchelson,

Bob Loney, George Zanutto, Pat Croome, Paul Sabourin, Archie Langston,

Ron Fitzmaurice, Dan Mosa, Jack Prout.

Absent: Armand Antoniak, Leno Brescacin, Rob Cameron, Peter Commisso,

Dr. Robert Croome, Cal Duthie, Brian Hadath, Rob McCormack, Dr. Oren Safir, Dick Seagris.

On a snow covered field at McKellar Park on November 23rd, 1958, the Fort William Redskins made history by defeating the St. Francis Xavier Saints 10-0 to claim the Canadian Intermediate football crown becoming the first and only team from northwestern Ontarioto claim a national title in football.

The Fort William Redskins Football Club amassed an impressive record in their 20 year history from 1946-66, with 14 local, 5 Western Canadian and 1 Canadian title to their credit.

Inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, October 1, 1983

Fort William Redskins Intermediate Football

Team Year:
Canada Champions
bottom of page