top of page

Amber Butler, Michela Cava, Kylie Cornell, Michaela Coulter, Riley Cronk, Haleigh Croves, Savanna Gamache, Jana Henry, E. Heroux, Brianna Iazzolino, Megan Leikkari, Amanda Makela, Kaitlyn Quarrell, Taylor Savard, Courtney Tougas, Kaitlyn Tougas, Brittany Zuback, Denis Lavoie (Coach), Daniel Lavoie (A. Coach), Randy LaPointe (A.Coach), Crystal Tustian (Tr/Mgr).

This historic team’s road to national honours began at the 24-team Ontario Women's Hockey Association (OWHA) Provincial Playdowns held in Mississauga. Having already earned tournament victories throughout the season, they continued their winning ways shutting out their three opponents in their pool. Advancing through the playoffs they defeated Willowdale 3-0 in the semi-finals and claimed the first-ever provincial Midget AA title for the Queen's program in an exciting 1-0 overtime win against Stoney Creek.

Making their way to the National Female Midget Championship Esso Cup in Regina, they faced off against the top five teams from across the country. Finishing first in round-robin play with a 4-1 record, their 2-1 win against the Edmonton Thunder in the semi-finals saw them face the Notre Dame Hounds from the host province in the final. Fighting back from a 3-1 deficit, their 4-3 victory earned them the Esso Cup and a spot in the history books as the first women's team from northwestern Ontario ever to win a national hockey title. 

Many of the members of this national championship team remained involved in the game as players, coaches and hockey volunteers, continuing to serve as role models for the next generation.

Inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, September 30, 2023

Thunder Bay Queens Midget AA Hockey Team

Team Year:
Canadian Champions - Esso Cup
bottom of page