top of page

Back Row (L-R): Joe Ritson, Peter Cava, Mike Simeoni, Marty Bannon, Steve Bailot

Middle Row(L-R): Richard Bosch (Tr), Jamie Kelso, Corey LaFreniere, John Vaillant,Kevin Schutte, Ian Sgambelluri, Jim Buie, Joe Lombardo, Jesse Black

Front Row (L-R): Scott Sutton, Paul Mackett (Asst Coach), Kelly Sundell (Asst Coach), Bryan Duce, Jesse Heerema, Chris Heino, Jeff Pradal, Dave Bragnalo (Coach), Cliff O'Brien (Manager), Colin Zulianello

When this group of 16- and 17-year-olds made their way through the regular season with an impressive record of 45 wins, 8 losses and 2 ties, the possibility of advancing along the road to the national finals was becoming a reality. Claiming the district playdowns in two straight games against the Kenora Rainy River Stars, they advanced to the Western Canadian Midget AAA playdowns. Their three wins earned them a spot in the finals, where they shut out Saskatchewan 9-0 to advance to the national championships.

Making their way to the Air Canada Cup tournament in Sherbrooke, Quebec they faced off against teams from the Pacific, Central, Maritime, and Quebec regions. With four wins and one tie in round robin play, they retained their no-loss record and advanced to the finals, where they faced off against the Red Deer Chiefs. Coming from behind a 2-goal deficit, they tied it up 3-3 in the third period before adding the game winner with four minutes left to play to claim the Air Canada Cup and the first national midget AAA hockey title for northwestern Ontario.

Inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, September 26, 2009

Thunder Bay AAA Kings Midget Hockey Team

Team Year:
Canadian Champions - Air Canada Cup
bottom of page