top of page

Earning the District 3 crown by defeating the Port Arthur Continentals and Nationals 5-0 and 4-0 and the Fort William Americans 11-1 in the deciding game of the finals, this team advanced to the Canadian championships held that year at the Port Arthur Stadium.

Donning the name Thunder Bay South Nationals, the team won their first game 5-2 and clinched the title by shutting out Windsor South 4-0 in the final game of the series to become Canadian champs. Earning the right to represent their country at the Little League World Series the team travelled to Gary, Indiana for the round robin tournament that featured teams from Europe, the Far East, Latin America and the United States.

Shut out in their first game of the series 12-0 by Taiwan, the eventual tourney winners, they faced West Germany next. Leading 1-0 after two innings, and adding 4 more in the 4th to move ahead 5-3, the Germans answered with 4 of their own in the 5th to take a 7-5 lead and eventual win. Eliminated from the double knock-out event this team from Westfort could take pride in knowing that they represented their country and hometown with distinction.

Back (L-R): Don Yurick (Manager), David Bazaluk (P), Rick Vescio (F), Mike (Triszcz) Trisch (F), Rob Sawicki (P/1B/3B), Allan Legros (F), David Osipenko (F), Oscar Bortuzzo (2B), Larry Deswiage (Coach).

Front (L-R): Mike Pecchia (F), Wayne Wilson (SS), John Sliskovic (F), Dave Dunn (F), Doug Henry (C), Bill Oleksuk (P/3B), Gordon Pearce (F).

Inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, September 27, 2003

Fort William National-Internationals Senior Little League

Team Year:
Canadian Champions
bottom of page