top of page

Whenever the Thunder Bay Flyers took to the ice during the 1988-89 season the fans in the stands were treated to some great hockey. Made up of players from throughout northwestern Ontario, the team lay claim to four titles, including a national crown. Defeating the St. Paul Vulcans in a closely fought 2 game series final, the team won the Anderson Cup as League champions, with a record of 40 wins, 10 losses and 2 ties. In USHL playoff action, they claimed the Clark Cup by downing the Vulcans with a 5-3 victory in the 5th and deciding game.

The victory was that much more impressive considering that at the same time they were competing in that series they were also making their way along the trail to the Canadian Jr. A finals. The extra games did not seem to pose a problem as the team swept the Central Canada playdowns with 8 wins split between the Sudbury Cubs and Pembroke Lumber Kings.

Advancing to the 1989 Centennial Cup Championships in Summerside, P.E.I., the team won 2 of their 3 games in round robin action. Their 4-1 victory against the hometown Western Capitals in the final game saw them become the first team from northwestern Ontario to claim the Centennial Cup as Canadian National Jr. 'A' Champions.

The members of this national championship team included:

Darryl Blazino (Captain), Jason Bortolussi, Brian Caruso, Dwight DeGiacomo, Peter Grant, Greg Hankkio, Todd Henderson, Todd Howarth, Chris Hynnes, Greg Johnson, Brad Kennett, Darren Leishman, Barry McLeod, Ian Milne, Don Osborne, Craig Pages, Michael Power, Neal Purdon, Bruce Ramsay, Wayne Sawchuk, Gary Wenzel, Dave Siciliano (Coach), Sean Donohue (Assistant Coach), Ray Bohonis (Manager), Dino Martin (Trainer), Gaetan 'Frenchie' Joubert (Trainer).

Inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, September 25, 2004

Thunder Bay Flyers Junior Hockey

Team Year:
Canadian Champions
bottom of page