top of page

In 1985 northwestern Ontario once again proved the world that their curlers were a force to be reckoned with. That year the Hackner Rink of Thunder Bay, consisting of skip Al Hackner, third Rick Lang, second Ian Tetley, lead Pat Perroud and fifth man Bruce Kennedy, claimed the region's second world curling title, by winning the Air Canada Silver Broom.

The Hackner Rink entered the Northern Ontario Tankard held that year in Dryden, where they defeated the Rollie Ralph Rink of Sault Ste. Marie to gain entry into the National Championships.

It was at the Labatt Brier in Moncton, New Brunswick, that the exceptional talents of these outstanding curlers truly shone. The Pat Ryan Rink of Alberta had set a Brier record that year by winning 11 straight games in the preliminary rounds of play, earning a bye into the final. Alberta, however, was to meet their match against the Northern Ontario Team in one of the most thrilling finals in the event's history.

With Alberta leading 5-3 in the 10th end, Skip Al Hackner made a dramatic cross-ice double take-out, tying the score and forcing the final into an extra end showdown. In the 11th end the Hackner Rink wrapped up their Brier title with at 6-5 victory. During the final game, each member of the rink curled exceptionally well, with lead Pat Perroud recording a seldom-made perfect game, curling at 100%.

At the World Championships in Glasgow, Scotland, the Hackner Rink went on to defeat the Stefan Hasselborg Rink of Sweden with a decisive 6-2 victory. This win earned Canada its 9th World title and the second in four years for northwestern Ontario.

For their outstanding athletic achievements these northwestern Ontario curlers were named the 1985 Ontario Team of the Year.


Al Hackner (skip), Rick Lang (third), Ian Tetley (second), Pat Perroud (lead).

Inset: Bruce Kennedy (fifth).

Inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame, September 17, 1988

Hackner [Al] Men's Curling Rink

Team Year:
Canadian and World Champions
bottom of page